Dr. Strange Sauce:

Or how I stopped worrying and learned to avoid a food coma.

It’s been a warm winter. Warm enough that we could grill out in jackets for the Super Bowl. But now it seems Spring is here in full force. (70 degrees every day this week, that’s practically tropical) That means the charcoal is going to get a lot more of a workout. A staple of my grill is chicken, which is great because the fowl takes a lot of flavors well. A favorite flavor of mine is barbeque sauce, so this weekend I decided to make my own.  This is a modified recipe from the Food Republic for a coffee bourbon bbq sauce.

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/2 cup Double-strength drip-brewed coffee
  • 1/2 cup bourbon whiskey
  • 1/2 cup worcestershire sauce
  • 1/2 cup cider vinegar
  • 1 cup veggie (or chicken or pork stock)
  • 1 cup ketchup
  • 4 1/2 tablespoon brown sugar
  • 1 jalapeno, sliced with the seeds
  • 1  onion, sliced
  • 3 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • a handful of wood chips

INSTRUCTIONS

In a heavy-bottom pot, heat the olive oil to almost smoking. Add the onions, garlic and jalapeƱo, and cook until charred.


Add the remaining ingredients, except wood chips, bring to a boil and reduce by half.


Let cool to room temperature and puree in a high-speed blender until silky smooth, or use stick blender.

Add woodchips and simmer for 10 minutes.
Pass the sauce through a fine mesh sieve and pour into jars.

If you’re going to put up the sauce, you need to process it using the boiling method for 15 minutes. Otherwise it should be good in the fridge for a few weeks.

Everything turned out delicious. It’s a pretty spicy sauce, but that is cut down a bit when you use it on fatty meats. I’m definitely going to make it again, only next time I think I’ll seed the jalapenos and sub out the brown sugar for 1/4 cup of molasses.

Coffee BBQ Sauce on Punk Domestics
5 comments
  1. Oh yum….I think this is the perfect thing to get the grill out of hibernation. I have some beautiful split chicken breasts begging for a sauce like this….

  2. Patricio said:

    Dude…I bet this would be awesome on catfish.

  3. Andrew Thomason said:

    Angela,

    I totally agree. The char flavor of a grill would definitely enhance this sauce, especially if you’re using charcoal. That’s kind of why I did the whole wood chips thing. I tried to catch some flavor of the grill without using a grill.

  4. Kaity said:

    Hi Andrew,

    What type of wood chips did you use specifically? I have never used wood chips in a recipe.

    Thanks!!!
    Kaity

    • Andrew Thomason said:

      I used mesquite chips, though I would have preferred apple wood. And honestly I would probably simmer them in the sauce a little bit longer (maybe half an hour.)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

