Can it: Peanut Butter

Life changing. Religious experience. Epiphany. Moment of clarity. What happened in my kitchen last night didn’t rise to the level of any of those, though it was pretty awesome. It was much more of a eureka moment than anything, and it has to do with what else but peanut butter. I love peanut butter, it’s well documented. Me and the Mrs. have been on the road a lot lately and things at work have been pretty busy, so I haven’t got do to a lot of kitchen “projects.” So while shopping I decided to buy a lot of nuts and make my own butter. It turns out it’s super easy, and taste way better than the stuff you can buy at the grocer. Plus it’s cheaper.

What you’ll need

  • 1 15 oz can of roasted, lightly salted peanuts
  • 1 teaspoon of nut oil (I’d say peanut oil, but I could only find that stuff by the gallon, so I used walnut oil)
  • 1 teaspoon of honey

 What to do

  1. Put the peanuts in a food processor and process for about a minute.
  2. Scrape down the sides, add the oil and the honey, the process again. After about 30 seconds to a minute something near magic happens and your finely ground peanuts begin to turn into peanut butter! Keep going for about 1.5 minutes after this.
  3. Transfer to a jar and stick it away to use later on oatmeal, in a nice Thai dish or in a peanut butter porter.
1 comment
  1. Patricio said:

    Do want!

    On a related note, I made a small amount of sunflower butter with my mortar and pestle. I spread it on some rosemary bread, and it was fantastic. Highly recommend it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

