Something someone else found

I’ve come to the conclusion that the majority of my life is spent stealing things, namely ideas. I steal other people’s speech patterns, I steal other people’s music taste (when they’re good) and I steal story ideas. SO it comes as no surprise that everything posted on here, aside from the complaints about life, work and et cetera, are me stealing ideas from across the Internet.

If you’ve noticed one thing about me, I hope it’s that I love anything associated with the Cold War, especially from right after WWII through about 1985. That brings us to today’s topic de jur: nuked food, and I’m not talking about microwaves.

It turns out, according to this New Science article via io9, people right after WWII were using Colbalt-60 to mutate food. If you don’t know, Colbalt-60 is the stuff that was going to be used in a real-life doomsday device that inspired Dr. Strangelove (best movie ever.) 

A rod of the radioactive element would be placed in the center of a circular garden. The stuff closest would die, the stuff in the middle would grow tumors, but the stuff farthest away would, sometimes, develop USEFUL mutations. In fact, according to the article, 70 percent of the peppermint sold in the US comes from an irradiated strain. 

“If you think of genetic modification today as slicing the genome with a scapel, in the 1960s they were hitting it with a hammer,” said Paige Johnson of the University of Tulsa, OK, in the article.

What I’m wondering is if there is the possibility of giant ants growing underground somewhere, waiting and plotting their eventual takeover of the surface, or if the nuclear experiments just killed a bunch of plants. 

Comments are closed.

