Relax, don’t do it, when you want to get to it

Like most of the nerds I know, I’m a fan of some of the Gawker Media websites. That’s a lie. I’m a fan of all the Gawker sites, but I’m especially obsessed with Lifehacker and io9. 

As I got my first dose of Lifehacker this morning over breakfast, I actually took time, defied my ADHD-riddled brain, and read a whole 100 word post. I’ll give you the link here, but if you don’t have time to ingest all eight sentences, here’s the gist. Don’t make a to-do list, make a to-stop list. If you stop doing the things that stop you from being productive, you’ll be more productive. 

It seems like a simple enough concept, and one I’m a fan of for two reasons. First, I like lists, as obvious from the fact that this is itself a list. Second, I’ve been doing this, just not in list form. An example is a post from earlier about avoiding the rabbit hole of Reddit to make me more productive, and less prone to losing my attention (1). 

Today, instead of being productive for 10 or 15 minutes, I’m going to sit down and think of things that I need to stop doing to be more productive, and tackle one a week. We’ll see how that goes. 

1) AN UPDATE. From a strict interpretative of the Reddit post and subsequent weeks, I failed. I’ve checked out the mind-numbing pictures and memes while at work. From my own, warped view, it’s been a success. I’ve avoided the website a great deal. Maybe I should stop writing this during the day to, it’d save me at least 10 minutes. 

Comments are closed.

