The Kropper stand at the state fair provided yesterday’s supper: Beer-battered, deep-fried

The Kropper stand at the state fair provided yesterday’s supper: Beer-battered, deep-fried cheese curds. I find that the more adjectives in front of the food’s name, the more tasty, and likely unhealthy, the food will be. 

“It’s like a deep-fried grilled cheese,” was how my wife described these breaded chunks of dairy, and I’d say it is pretty spot on. 

I don’t know what beer was used, or what kind of cheese was used for that matter. All I know is that the batter was crunchy and the cheese was gooey, coming together to create one of the best deep-fried creations I’ve had. These guys have definitely been my favorite fair treat so far. Everything else has been good, but I created it in my kitchen. These take fryers that have seen many seasons of fairs and oil that’s probably a little too old to create the perfect flavor. 

Cost of deep-fried cheese curds: $7.50. Grade: A-

Comments are closed.

