Living high off the hog

I had a really good post started about obesity rates and yadayadayada. Then I stumbled across this.

The basics: a young couple meet, fall in love, marry* then turn to careers in agriculture, specifically butchering.

HERE is a little video that explains their back story, beliefs and future plans. It’s pretty well done, which is essential if you hope to raise money they way they are, through kickstarter.com**.

They bring up some really good points, and while I tend to wonder just how much of an agriculture renascence is actually going on, I have to say that I think people do want good food prepared in a way that isn’t more synonymous to building a car than actual husbandry.

I know that I want to see an agriculture renascence, or revolution or maybe even a revolt. Inspired first by my dad’s efforts to grow a garden in our yard ever since I can remember, then later by Michael Pollen, then by the first wave of agricultural renascnecees Wendell Berry*** I want to see people care a lot more about where their food comes from.

That’s why I couldn’t be more excited about moving into a new apartment with my wife. We are lucky enough to have a great landlord who owns the lot next door and is willing to let us take over an abandoned garden.

It’s also the reason that I am taking up hunting again. The people with whom I’ve hunted with in the past are some of the biggest conservationist I know. They treat their land well because they realize just how much we depend on it for food and therefore our health.

All of that to say that if I had more that $14.96 in my checking account, I’d probably kick Farmstead Meatsmith a few bucks. Maybe you should too. Or just look at their cool videos of delicious meats.

*The husband has a M.A. in English and the wife a Master of ? in theology. I’m not sure if they came to their current place in life in spite or because of their educational background. Both my wife and I have Masters and we talk books and religion on a regular basis, just sayin.

**Kick Starer lets you ask for or give money to cool projects. In exchange for donating, you receive incentives like a hand-written letter or in the case of Farmstead Meatsmith, give $500 and you get a slab of their bacon. There’s a pretty comprehensive article in the New York Times Magazine if you want further reading.

***In all fairness to Berry, he has always preached sustainable farming, even when that was the only kind of farming around. The guy is as old as the dirt on his Kentucky farm. I’d really recommend checking out some of his essays. His fiction isn’t bad either, and has some of the same messages woven throughout, I’ve just never gotten on board with it.

Comments are closed.

