Canned Carrots

What do you think of when I say the word pickle? If you’re off a certain generation you might think of Tommy, Stu and DeeDee. Otherwise I’m sure the image of sliced cucumbers in a jar pops into your head. But pickles can be so much more than a sandwich topping. And they can be so much more than just cucumbers.

Trying another recipe from Put em Up! this weekend, I pickled carrots.

Image

I’m giving them two weeks before I dive in to really let the flavors get to know each other. Until then I’ll just stare and share.

The recipe is more or less as follows.

  • 2 lbs of carrots
  • 1 onion
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • 1 1/2 tsp of peppercorns
  • 1 Tbl of dried dill
  • 1 Tbl of dill seeds
  • 4 cups vinegar
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 2 Tbs salt

Make sure the carrots are trimmed up.

Cut the onion into thin slices and mince the garlic.

Combine the vinegar, sugar and salt in a sauce pan and bring to a boil.

While waiting for the liquid to boil, split everything into 3 sanatized glass quart jars.

Pour boiling liquid into the jars.

Clean jar lips, add lids and screw down.

This is where I stopped. The book calls for then giving the jars a 15 minute hot water bath. I didn’t do that. We’ll see if that makes a difference. To be on the safe side, preservatively speaking, I’m keeping the jars in the fridge. They should be good for a month or two in there. I’ll report back once I’ve actually tried them.

Leave a Reply

