Peanut Butter Bourbon Cookies

Peanut butter is a staple of my life. It feeds me in the morning, I use it in sauces, I use it as a snack, I use it in beer, I pay way too much for it. Opening up the cupboard and not finding a glass jar of peanut butter would be like a drunkard thinking he had a sixer of Natural Light waiting for him only to discover when he opened the fridge that it was just a half-gallon of stale milk staring back at him. Ugly.
Bourbon, while not a staple of my life, is my drink of choice. It’s got character without being all snooty like Whiksy. That could be because of its humble roots in the hills of the Southeast. Or maybe it just hasn’t matured quite enough to be all snooty like it’s older sibling. Either way, me and Bourbon can hangout and he doesn’t make me feel uncomfortable or like I’m the product of poor breeding.
Get peanut butter and Bourbon together and that sounds like one hell of a party that I wouldn’t miss.
Enter these cookies.
  • 1/2 cup butter (a whole stick) softened
  • 1/2 cup smooth peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 1 1/2 shots of Bourbon
  • 2 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • About 2 cups of chocolate chips, though adjust this according to your tastes

Preheat oven to 350

Mix the flour, baking soda and salt in a bowl. Set aside

Cream the sugar, peanut butter and butter in a mixer for 2 to 4 minutes. Then add the eggs one at a time until just combined. Add vanilla, honey and Bourbon and mix for 15 more seconds.

Slowly add the bowl of dry ingredients until they are well incorporated, then mix in the chocolate chips.

Mix dough into balls about the size of golf balls and put on well-greased cookie sheet. Cook for 10-15 minutes. Cool on tray. Enjoy!

Obviously, if you’re in AA or don’t have a taste for Bourbon (is that possible?) you can omit the shot. I would suggest adding a bit more vanilla extract, if you go down that route.

1 comment
  1. Patricio said:

    These cookies are awesome. The ladyfan liked them, too.

Leave a Reply

