Can it: Hot Sauce

I’m thrilled to watch seeds turn into plants in our garden. The latest guys to poke through the soil are hot peppers. The 30 plants we’ve started are mainly for making hot sauce, the one condiment I couldn’t do without. I love hot sauce, from Tabasco to Frank’s, so I figured I’d take a run at making the stuff with my own plants. In preparation for turning the summer’s crop into liquid gold I grabbed some jalapeno peppers at the store and decided to try to make my first hot sauce. And it worked, kinda. I try to lay out on the blog what you’ll need to make what I’m describing, which I’ll do here. But be warned, this stuff might almost be there in terms of taste, but it’s way too watery for me.

What you’ll need:

  • 3/4 lbs of jalapenos, seeded
  • 1 bunch of cilantro
  • 4 cloves of garlic
  • 1 T of salt
  • 1/4 cup of brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup of vinegar

What to do

  1. Put the vinegar and sugar in a sauce pan, bring to boil, remove from heat.
  2. Add everything but the vinegar/sugar mixture to a food processor. Pulse 5 times
  3. Add liquid mixture and mix until pureed
  4. Pour through a fine mesh strainer into a jar or whatever vessel you want.
  5. **OPTIONAL** I boiled down my hot sauce and it still wasn’t as thick as I wanted or as hot. This helped but it’s not quite there.

I’m going to rejigger the recipe, maybe not straining it out completely, maybe not seeding all the jalapenos. I’m not sure,  but I’m hoping to have something near perfect by the time our peppers flower in the warmer months.

 

3 comments
  1. Sierra said:

    What if you added an egg yolk or two? It’s what binds and thickens mayo, so would it maybe work here? It could also give the sauce a different depth without really changing the flavor (except to maybe make it richer?). Just a thought!

    • Andrew Thomason said:

      I’m not sure about adding egg just in terms of canning. I’d need to do some research to see if I could indeed do that and not worry about bacteria or other ruiners of canned goods. Thanks for the tip though!

      • Sierra said:

        For some reason I wasn’t thinking about actually canning it…probably because with something like that I’d probably just make one can and stick it in the fridge for my husband. It might work if you just made it and stuck in the fridge, but I agree about the canning part! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

